Gamer Freddett, NBA Lottery prospective Usar and Amin Thompson among the big names participating in the 2022 TBT

Former National Player of the Year Jimmer Freddet and Top 10 Potential NBA Players pick Ussar and Amin Thompson for the 2022 NBA Championship.

The 64-team TBT bracket, released Wednesday, features a record 71 players with NBA experience as well as 29 college alumni teams.

For the first time in the event’s history, the TBT Games will be held outdoors, with one of its regional venues being hosted in historic Rucker Park in New York City. The other seven regional cities are Omaha, Nebraska; Albuquerque, New Mexico; Wichita, KS; Syracuse, New York; Charleston, West Virginia; Cincinnati. and Dayton, Ohio.

“This year’s field is impressive,” said John Mauger, founder and CEO of TBT. “Nine years ago we set out to be the home of high stakes basketball, open to all, putting people against each other from all walks of life. This year’s field shows how far we have come. It is exceptionally diverse and talented. I can’t wait to see which team will win. Six games in a row.

Teams will compete for the $1 million tournament prize, with the winner winning everything.

Fredt, the former BYU guard who led the country in scoring in 2011 and won National Player of the Year before being named 10th in the NBA draft, leads the money team.

“I’m going to go out and play again and have fun,” Fredette told ESPN. “Brother [general manager TJ Fredette] It is part of the team assembly. It must be so much fun to get back on the court again and play competitive basketball.”

After playing with Shanghai Sharks in China in 2021, Fredette chose to stay home this winter and spring as he and his wife welcomed their third child. He joins a team that reached the quarter-finals last season and includes the likes of Trevor Booker, Jeremy Evans, Charles Jenkins and Gordon Crawford.

“I feel good,” Fredette said. “I’ve been working all the time. I will always work and keep working on my game. I will be excited to play in front of some of the fans, and to play with some of the players that I really love.”

Fredette played at TBT in 2018, and led the championship in scoring – including a 41-point effort to help Team Fredette advance.

“It’s always great,” he said. “At this point, it’s just about trying to win. Just doing whatever it takes to get ahead. The last time I had a really great tournament, I was lucky to be the top scorer. That’s great, but it’s about staying and going. It’s about trying to win. With these games and moving forward. Run towards that million.”

Fredette’s money team is the number one seed in the Dayton area. Other seeds are YGC (Rucker Park), Gutter Cats (Omaha), Heartfire (New Mexico), Florida TNT (Xavier), Boeheim’s Army (Syracuse), AfterShocks (Wichita) and Best Virginia (West Virginia).

TBT began in 2014, when Notre Dame Fighting Alumni alumni won their first championship. The Overseas Elite won the next four titles before their streak ended in 2019 at the hands of Carmen’s Crew, an Ohio State alumni team. Marquette-based Golden Eagles alumni won in 2020, with Syracuse-focused Bohemian Army winning the title last season.

The Boeheim Army will defend its title this summer by adding first-time TBT players Tyler Ennis, Rakeem Christmas and Marek Dolezaj – all Syracuse alumni – to a squad that already includes five-time TBT champion DJ Kennedy and four-time champion DeAndre Kane.

As ESPN reported earlier this month, the expected 2023 lottery picks are topped by Amin and Ozar Thompson on Overtime, a squad put together by sports media company Overtime. The Thompson twins were suited to the Overtime Elite last season, as did Gazian Gortman, another expected draft pick who will play for the overtime staff at TBT. It will be the first time a qualifying NBA team will compete in a TBT competition, though the team also includes several professional veterans, including former San Diego State star Malcolm Thomas. Overtime is 6 seeds in the Omaha area.

Sideline Cancer, seeded 2 in the Xavier District, is looking for its third consecutive appearance in the quarterfinals. They brought back scorer Marcus Kean and added former South Dakota State star Mike Daum and veteran basketball player C.J. Miles.

Other players with NBA experience expected to play in this year’s TBT are Zayer Smith (Air Raiders), Omari Spielman (Aberlin Drive), Antonio Blakeney (Florida TNT), Semag Creston (ZipMP) and Justin Button (Omaha Blue Crew) Jacob Bolin (purple and black), Costa Kovos (Red Sea), Xavier Monford (Team Money), Jacob Evans (Nesty Nate) and Markel Brown (Stillwater Stars).

The championship team earns $1 million in a winner-takes-all title game to be televised on ESPN. This summer’s championship game will be played in Dayton on August 2.